## STROUD DISTRICT COUNCIL

## **COUNCIL**

## 19 MAY 2022

Report Title	APPOINTMENTS TO COMMITTEES				
Purpose of Report	To update the allocation of seats in accordance with the Local				
	Government and Housing Act 1989 and appoint Councillors to				
	committees with effect from 19 May 2022.				
Decision(s)	The Council <b>RESOLVES</b> to appoint Councillors to the				
	committees and positions set out in the report.				
Consultation and	The proposed appointments have been subject to consultation				
Feedback	with Group Leaders.				
Legal Implications	The Council is required to appoint Councillors to committees in				
	accordance with the proportionality rules.				
Report Author	Jenna Day, Senior Democratic Services & Elections Officer				
	Email: jenna.day@stroud.gov.uk				
Options	Members may make alternative nominations to the places				
	available on committees subject to compliance with the				
	allocation rules.				
Appendices	Appendix 1 – tables of nominations received				

**1.** <u>Political Composition</u>: The Council consists of a number of political groupings. The various groups comprise the following Members.

Conservative Group Councillors (19)						
Jason Bullingham	Nick Housden	Loraine Patrick				
Gordan Craig	Nick Hurst Keith Pearson					
Stephen Davies	Julie Job Mark Ryder					
Trina Davis	Haydn Jones	Haydn Sutton				
Chris Evans	John Jones	Brian Tipper				
Victoria Gray	David Mossman					
Lindsey Green	Gill Oxley					
Labour & Cooperative Group Councillors (15)						
Paula Baker	Helen Fenton	Jenny Miles				
Natalie Bennett	Colin Fryer	Nigel Prenter				
Chris Brine	Jessie Hoskin	Steve Robinson				
Doina Cornell	Trevor Hall	Mattie Ross				
Laurie Davies	Robin Layfield	Ashley Smith				

SDC Liberal Democrat Group Councillors (3)						
George James	Ken Tucker	Rich Wilsher				
Green Group Councillors (13)						
Beki Aldam	Jonathan Edmunds	Lucas Schoemaker				
Martin Baxendale	Steve Hynd	Chloe Turner				
Catherine Braun	Chris Jockel	Tricia Watson				
Martin Brown	Norman Kay					
Kate Crews	Martin Pearcy					

**Note:** In addition to the above, there is one Independent Member, namely, Councillor Nigel Studdert-Kennedy (known as 'Conservative - No Group').

2. <u>Committees</u>: The committees which are subject to political balance requirements currently comprise the following.

Committee	No. of Members on the committee
Community Services & Licensing	12
Environment	13
Housing	12
Strategy and Resources	13
Audit & Standards	9
Development Control	12

3. <u>Allocations to committees subject to political balance requirements</u>: The seats on each committee must be allocated to each political group as required by the Local Government and Housing Act 1989. On the basis of the existing committee structure, the allocations are as set out below.

Total no. of councillors 51	Conservative (19 Cllrs)	Labour (15 Clirs)	Liberal Democrats (3 Cllrs)	Green (13 Cllrs)	Total seats available
Community Services & Licensing	4	4	1	3	12
Environment	5	3	1	4	13
Development Control	5	4	0	3	12
Strategy & Resources	5	4	1	3	13
Housing	4	5	0	3	12
Audit & Standards	4	2	1	2	9
Seats to be allocated per Group	27	22	4	18	71

3.2 Each political group was asked to provide its allocations for the committees. The nominations are shown in the tables in Appendix A to this report.